After the Beep

I’ve never really liked talking on the phone. I can’t ever carry on a conversation if I’m not either sitting or pacing aimlessly within a small vicinity. Call me while I’m doing something that requires even .005% of my attention span? Consider any effort to complete that task ruined.

I’d like to say that I’ve gotten better at sounding like a remotely normal human being when I pick up the receiver. Working in customer service and doing a couple phone interviews will do that to you. But there’s one thing that I absolutely cannot get over.

I HATE leaving voicemail messages.

Whenever I hear that dreaded “leave a message after the beep” spiel, I hang up out of instinct. Then I’ll call right back but, when I realize that they  weren’t just unable to find their phone in time and are in fact unavailable at the moment, I’ll hang up immediately a second time. Generally, it takes me three tries to come up with a little script and make sure I can actually verbalize coherent thoughts to whoever I’m trying to contact. You know that awkward message you sometimes get that goes on just a little too long and the caller mentions their name four times but forgets to leave their number?

That’s me.

It’s something I’m trying to work on, promise. Deadline reporting will get it out of me. In the grand scheme of things, I’d rather have someone think that I’m a nervous rambler (which is entirely true) than lose the chance of covering a story. It might not be pretty for any of us involved, but I’ll get there.

One thought on “After the Beep

Leave a Reply

