Jigsaw

I’m taking a break from writing. Or rather, I was taking a break from writing, but that was supposed to end 20 minutes ago. My roommate and I are struggling tonight.

“I feel like a worthless human being,” she said to me from her room after asking me how to spell “wind” (as in “winding a clock”) because she was confused as to why it looked like “wind” (as in “the wind was strong today”).

It’s been a long couple of days. I know it’s only Monday, but that’s just where we’re at right now.

My thoughts about tonight’s writing process: “Why can’t I put coherent thoughts together?”

I think what’s so hard about this story in particular is being constrained as to what I’m allowed to write. I’ve gone through the editing process before, but never for a publication like the Missourian with it’s (larger than I’m used to) circulation. I think this is the first time that I’m writing for an audience that isn’t just a bunch of students like me.

As I sift through my notes, my article is feeling less like a fluid story and more like a jigsaw puzzle. I have to take all the pieces of information that I’ve collected, put them together in a neat fashion and make sure that the end result is the accurate projection of what the sources have provided for me.

And with that…break time over.

Leave a Reply

