Fall Break

Snow days. Heat days. Early-dismissal days. Teacher workshops. I remember having those in school, and especially with an education major best friend, it’s hard not to reminisce that feeling of joy when school is canceled, unexpectedly or otherwise.

So, great news came yesterday when I was in the newsroom for GA.

4:00 p.m. New email in my student account.

It was from Katherine. Oh, another new reading assignment on her blog? Okay, that’s nothing new.

But no. Absolutely not. Lo and behold, it was the bearer of much better news.

NO CLASS. Class canceled? Class canceled!

At the time, I was sitting outside the newsroom about to make a phone call. When I read it, though, I instantly let out the kind of exclamation of joy that took me back to snowy winters watching the morning news before school hoping, wishing that COLUMBIA PUBLIC SCHOOLS would come up in the ticker for school cancellations due to snow.

Before the start of lecture Tuesday, Katherine had mentioned something off-handedly about other universities getting fall breaks and how, gauging class morale, we definitely needed one too. And even though we couldn’t enforce it university-wide, she took matters into her own hands and made one of her own.

So this morning, instead of waking up at 8:15 like I have everyday since August, I had some free time on my hands. What was I going to do? The real question was, what wasn’t I going to do? I felt like a kid who all of a sudden was granted a night without a bedtime. I didn’t have to be out and productive like a normal human being until 12:30 p.m. for my history class. 12:30! I could’ve slept until noon if I really wanted to!

But, I didn’t. Construction crews outside my window made sure of that. I did, however, get to sleep in until 10 a.m. and took it easy for the first part of my day. A nice lunch of pasta, catching up on Modern Family, and promoting my latest article by sending it out to my story subjects and via social media.

To make matters better, my only class, a history of journalism lecture, was cut short when the TAs breezed through their powerpoint presentation in 35 minutes. Basically, on a day when I usually have 2 and a half hours of class, I was only in the classroom for 35 minutes.

Have I been as productive as I could have been? Probably not. Have I restored a piece of my sanity and wellbeing? No question.

Plus, I just realized it’s 10/11/12. How cool is that!

2 thoughts on “Fall Break

Leave a Reply

