Wrap-up

Today was another general assignment day, right after the election.

I wasn’t sure what to expect when I came in. I knew that, of course, the election news on the local, state and national levels would be the dominant headlines and coverage today.

When I got in to the newsroom, I was assigned to check out a couple structure fire incidents. Nothing too big. Then after a little debriefing with Katherine and Simina, we divvied up the follow-up articles and issues to be covered in the post-election fervor.

Early this morning, the Missourian received an email pointing out our lack of coverage of the race for Boone County public administrator. Cathy Richards was re-elected to a second term in the position. After lots of messages by email and phone, I finally gathered up all the pieces from her camp, as well as third-time defeated challenger John Sullivan and wrote a wrap-up of their race. I learned a bit about the position of public administrator and spoke directly with Mr. Sullivan, who was very respectful and showed gratitude toward the public he said he would still continue to serve as best as he could in a different position.

On a different note, it was so great to be a part of this exciting election season. From waiting outside talking to voters in Ashland, to being able to vote myself, to watching results sweep in with other journo friends to speaking with some of the candidates directly, I am so proud of what my team and I have been able to do.

This is the most informed I’ve been about an election, being that it was my first one to be able to vote in and I helped with some of the coverage. I learned so much and will anticipate the next one and will hopefully get another chance to cover it from behind the scenes.

Until next time!

Leave a Reply

