Mice, Miniatures and Multimedia

After going through the motions of finding an alternative multimedia piece story, then the subsequent re-dos of the reporting and information-gathering process, I’m proud to finally present my reporting multimedia piece!

Lauren and I worked hard on capturing the tiny works of Mo Tipton’s Mouse Market creations. After getting over the fact that dollhouse food is a thing, and that Mo was able to make a profitable and rewarding living out of it, it was so much fun just getting to talk to her about something she was so passionate about.

I found capturing this kind of story through visual aspects to be a great way to show exactly what Mo’s work is all about. Since her work is a type of visual art, and on an incredibly tiny scale, it made sense to show that side of things to the readership through photos and video.

Other than the fact that we had to start from scratch and find a new story subject a month after the original start date, there were a few challenges with reporting through a multimedia lens:

  • First, finding a way to show the scale of Mo’s work was difficult. She works in a studio in her apartment, and aside from her work being tiny, her workspace was also pretty small. Getting a variety of angles meant getting up close and personal with the subject, the camera zoom feature and the arrangement of her studio.
  • Reacquainting with the equipment also took some time. It’s one thing to know how to play with the settings to capture the kind of images and sound you want; but it’s another to have to do that in an unfamiliar setting with the added pressure of having the subject there with you. I found myself continuing to ask her questions through the equipment set-up and photographing process, but I only wish I had the mental capacity to be fully engaged in listening to her responses too.
  • The editing process, like it always seems, was the most tedious part. What information is the most important that I should include, and how should I arrange it all? I did most of the video editing and production, so loading up Final Cut Pro X (and feeling like my Macbook had suddenly become an early ’90s version of itself because it ran so slowly) wasn’t exactly my favorite part. But, what I did enjoy was getting to craft out a neat little story and finding all the elements of Mo that make her and her business unique.
  • Even playing it back, there are some parts in the audio that I’m not completely satisfied with. That has to do with a combination of the equipment that we used to capture her interviews, as well as some of my rough editing.
  • But all in all, I think it tells her story quite nicely and lets her personality resonate through her first-person account.

Since Mo was so personable and had a bunch of information to share, I also got to write a feature story about her work.

Leave a Reply

